Penny Sharpe Minister for Climate Change, Minister for Energy Minister for the Environment, Minister for Heritage Leader of the Government in the Legislative Council



Media Release NSW Government announces inaugural EnergyCo Board

Monday, 1 July 2024

The NSW Government has appointed the inaugural Board for the Energy Corporation of NSW (EnergyCo).

Led by a chairperson and seven members, the Board will oversee the planning, coordination and delivery of the Renewable Energy Zones and Priority Transmission Infrastructure Projects which will power our renewable energy future.

This will ensure NSW households and businesses have access to reliable, affordable and clean electricity to replace the state's aging coal-fired power stations while also making significant progress towards our net zero goals.

A rigorous process has supported the selection of a highly-skilled and diverse Board with strong industry, governance and community engagement expertise.

EnergyCo Board:

Chairperson

• Mr Paul Binsted

Members

- Ms Sandra Gamble
- Ms Hannah McCaughey
- Mr Vaughan Busby
- Ms Rebecca Colvin
- Mr Keith Turner
- Ms Donna Rygate
- Mr Alex Wonhas

EnergyCo's role is to maximise the opportunities created by the transformation of the NSW electricity system by coordinating investment in Renewable Energy Zones across the state.

Quote attributable to Minister for Climate Change and Energy Penny Sharpe:

"I'm delighted to announce the appointment of this highly qualified Board for EnergyCo NSW.

"The Board will spearhead the renewable energy transition in NSW and ensure households and businesses across NSW will benefit from the delivery of more clean, reliable and affordable electricity.

"I look forward to seeing the strategic thinking, collaboration and expertise of this Board come to life, to help deliver on the state's renewable energy goals."

MEDIA: Levi Joule | Minister Sharpe | 0481 112 074